Monday, August 3, 2009

Nothing good happens when you go off pissed

I’m on a road trip with Scott, Mike, ?Chris and Lauren? We’re going to a big park or campground with pools and rides and stuff. Mike is driving but he’s not in the driver seat. I’m in the front passenger seat and Mike is in a center seat and driving from there. Nobody is in the driver's seat. I want him to move over and get in the driver seat because it’s obvious he can’t use the brake and accelerator very well from the position of the middle seat and i'm afraid he's going to get us into an accident. He refuses to move into the driver’s seat and we’re both pissed. He's mad at me for questioning him and i'm pissed that he can't see how much danger he's putting us and the driver's of other cars in. We slow down to take a left into the park and i get out of the car and go off on my own because i'm so angry.

I’m walking through one of the indoor pool areas and decided to get in the water. Fully dressed and with shoes and socks on, i walk through the pool past the floats and people. I have to cut through the restaurant to get back inside the airport/hotel and i realize i’m no longer wearing shoes and socks and don’t remember where i left them. I get into the lobby of the airport/hotel and i’m pulling my suitcase. I’m still annoyed with Mike and don’t want to go back to the room that we’re all sharing on the fouth floor. I can't remember the number anyways and that makes me annoyed with myself for being so disorganized. I find an elevator going up but there’re already several people waiting to board so when the elevator arrives i don’t get on. Just as the doors are closing i realize the elevator was huge inside and my suitcase and i would have easily fit. It didn’t really matter though and i waited for the next one. I went up to the eighth floor and walk around the halls pulling my suitcase until i find a door that’s opened and i go into that room and crash. Room 807.

It’s the next morning and i’m panicked because i know i have to catch an airplane but don’t know what time or anything because all my tickets and ID are in a smaller bag that i left with the gang (and i’m assuming is in the room they’re sharing). I don’t know what time it is or anything so i rush to find a down elevator thinking that i’ll wait in a central location until i meet up with my party again. It takes awhile to find an elevator and it’s just a one-person small one that you sit down in. My suitcase is too big so i fold it in half and carry it under my arm. When i get to the bottom i see that there’s a long line to get into the airport to check in, but since i can’t check in i need to find a way around the line and people to enter through the lobby door. I see a couple standing outside on a terrace and i’m thinking i can just walk around the outside. The tree-lined sidewalk is a long wide curve around the main road and not a hard walk. I’m not really sure if i’m going the right way but i feel like as long as i keep moving i won’t panic completely. As i come around the front of the building i see that it was the right way to go and feel relieved. I go to a concierge to explain that i’ve misplaced my ID and plane ticket to see if she can maybe help me to find out which gate my plane leaves from and what time when i notice a clock on the wall that say’s it’s only 7:30 am. I know that if our plane was leaving anytime soon the group would already be down in the lobby so i don’t feel quite so panicky and decide to go to the cafeteria for breakfast. As i’m standing in THAT line i realize i could just have the front desk call Scott in the room and tell him where i am. But then Scott is in the cafeteria with me. My suitcase is still folded up like a satchel and most of my stuff is gone. I explain to him why i got mad in the car and he just laughs (i’m assuming because he knows how pigheaded Mike and i can be when we disagree stupid things). He says the rest of the folks are on their way down and i say something about my ticket and ID being in my carry-on and did he think they’d bring it down. He replied sarcastically “What do YOU think?” and i realize i better get to the room and pack my stuff up because they’re not going to do anything for me. I ask him if the room number is 431 and he says “No, it’s 435” As i hurry to find the room i realize i’ve lost my suitcase now.

Then i woke up from that BITCH of a dream.

Last night i felt that Mike was being a little cold towards me and realized i’d felt that way for the last couple of days. I’m not sure what i said or did to trigger it, but i’m sure i said or did something that annoyed him but he will never say directly what the issue is, and he doesn’t just get over it. I think i first knew something was up with him when we went out to dinner the other night and, in response to something i said about other people feeding the dogs table scraps, he looked at me exasperated then looked at Wayne and Scott and said “She doesn’t know me at all!” which was so funny because he has absolutely NO insight into his own psyche much less behavior patterns AND he’s the biggest pussy when it comes to spoiling his dogs. Even Scott agreed with me on the point i’d made. Apparently it’s only his mom that he doesn’t correct about feeding the dogs table scraps behind his back. Oh yeah. I vaguely remember him saying something in the car on the way over to the ?Saucer on Friday night too along a similar vein.

So i suppose it was a chain of my bullshit that got under his skin. No doubt i can be annoying if you’re in a bad mood or tired. But since he has no insight he can’t even just say “you know what? i’m tired and/or in a bad mood so just stop talking to me for a bit”. Everything is indirect with him. Textbook Passive/Aggressive. No matter. He’ll get over what ever it is he perceives i’ve done eventually i suppose. He comes from a family of grudge holders so it could be awhile. No matter. Scott’s my boy. We are two peas in a pod. When we disagree it’s “Bark! Bark! Bark!” and then it’s all over. Neither of us will even remember disagreeing. Sometimes by the end of the argument we don’t even remember which position we’d taken on the subject, that’s how alike we are. I attribute it to us both being air signs but it might just be because we’re both dipshits. Whatever. He’s my brother no doubt about it. Or soul pal.

So anyways, i’m sure that’s what triggered the stress dream. Plus Chris and Lauren (and Jay) are coming for a visit this weekend so that’s probably why they were in the dream and we were at the airport. Hate that airport/hotel place too. And i hate losing my stuff.

No comments:

Post a Comment